State of Illinois Health Requirements
Immunization Student Health Data
In accordance with Public Act 099-0249, every public school district and nonpublic school will make publicly available the immunization data which was submitted to the State Board of Education. To view the comprehensive summary for Butler 53 School District Immunization Report, go to following website, Immunization Summary for District 53.
Proof of Health Examination
Parent(s)/guardian(s) of students shall present proof of a health examination by a licensed physician and of having received the immunizations and screenings for preventable communicable diseases, as required by the Department of Public Health rules:
- “Within one year before entering kindergarten or the first grade;
- Within one year of entering sixth grade; and
- Whenever a student first enrolls in school, regardless of the student’s grade.”
The examination must be recorded on the State of Illinois Department of Public Health - approved school examination form. Please use the Child Health Form above.
In addition, evidence of dental examinations is now also required for students before enrollment in kindergarten, second grade, and sixth grade. State of Illinois Department of Public Health-approved Dental forms must be used for this purpose.
Failure to comply with health examination requirements by the first day of school of the current school year will result in the student’s exclusion from school until the required health forms are presented to the district.
All new students who are first-time registrants shall be granted 30 days following registration to demonstrate compliance with the health examination and immunization regulations.
Vision & Hearing Screenings by Grade
DuPage County Health Department comes every fall to conduct Vision & Hearing screenings on the following mandated grades;
- Kindergarten - Hearing only. If child did not get required vision exam upon enrollment, a vision screening will be conducted.
- 1st grade - Hearing only
- 2nd grade - Both Vision & Hearing
- 3rd grade - Hearing only
- 8th grade - Vision only
All new / transfer students, as well as special education students, will be screened in both Vision & Hearing. If a parent would like their child screened, alert the school nurse to your request.
Medication at School
According to state law, administration of medication during regular school hours should be discouraged unless absolutely necessary for student health and well-being. If a student needs to take medication during the school day, a form from the physician must be on file in the school office. This applies to both prescription as well as over-the-counter (OTC) remedies. All medication must be distributed through the school office. Parents should discuss any special needs with the school nurse/office staff.
Please follow these guidelines to help you determine when you should keep your child home from school.
- Bad Coughs/Cold - if the child has symptoms that will interfere with the ability to keep up with school activities, including a constant running nose or continual coughing.
- Skin Rash or Red Eye - if the cause is undetermined your child can return with a doctor’s note.
- Diarrhea or Vomiting - until illness is over and your child is symptom free for at least 24 hours – without use of medicine.
- Fever of 100 degrees or higher by mouth (fever of 99 degrees or greater under the arm) - Your child should be fever free for twenty-four hours without the use of medicine before returning to school.
- If antibiotics are prescribed, they must be given 24 hours before the student may return to school.
Please help control the spread of illness by reminding your child to use tissues as needed and to wash their hands frequently. If you have any questions about these guidelines, please contact the district nurse.
A child may be excused from a physical education activity following an illness or accident upon written verification from his or her parent or guardian. No child will be excused without this note.
Any restriction for participation in physical education requires a qualified physician’s written verification detailing the type and length of restriction.
Students should receive a pass from the teacher and report to the office if they become ill. All accidents and injuries should be reported to the teacher immediately upon their occurrence. Remember that students must never leave school for illness or other reasons without first checking out with the school office. The office will notify parents immediately of any serious student health or accident concerns.
Questions can be directed to school district nurse Terry Hillen R.N. PEL-CSN.
CPR & AED VIDEO
Parent are encouraged to view this VIDEO about CPR and AED.